Josna Rege

Five Years!

In Notes on March 1, 2015 at 12:08 am

anniversary-2x

DSCN3436It was on February 28th, 2010 that I wrote my first story for what would become Tell Me Another at the instigation of my son, whose idea it was that I should start a blog and who set it all up for me. Here it still is, 300 stories later. Hardly a day has passed these five years when I haven’t enjoyed an exchange with a friend, a far-flung relation, or a hithertofore complete stranger, sparked by a story that struck a chord with them and prompted one  of their own. Wonderful things have happened as a result of sending these stories out into cyberspace like messages in a bottle (a nod to you, Bottledworder), including reconnecting with long-lost friends and family and enjoying members of the Indian and English branches of my family meeting cross-continentally, albeit virtually, through a conversation on the blog.

What do I have to say for myself? Honestly, I’m at a bit of a loss for words; perhaps I’ve used them all up. As for TMA, it is what it is, as my son would say in the zen-cryptic language so masterfully employed by him and his peers. And what is that? Again, I don’t know. It’s not quite a memoir, neither is it pure storytelling, nor is it a series of wise reflections befitting someone who has unaccountably attained my advanced age. The blog is a strange animal, and I suppose I’m discovering its possibilities and limitations as I go along. It’s an ungainly word that will never sound noble to my ears, but there’s no denying its pleasures.

I have my favorite TMA stories, but I would be delighted if you were moved to tell me yours. You can see the full list, both in the order in which I wrote them and the order in which the events unfolded, by clicking on the links below.

Thank you, dear Nikhil, and heartfelt thanks to all of you, especially my regular readers, who have commented on Tell Me Another.

Tell Me Another (Contents to Date)

Chronological Table of Contents

IMG_4438

  1. Congratulations on your five years! It’s a nice feeling, isn’t it? Look forward to future posts from you. Thanks.

    • Thank you! And apologies for the belated response. It was a busy time, and I completely forgot that I had never written back to these kind words.I did visit your blog, though, and hope to return again soon.

  2. Congratulations, and happy blog anniversary! I look forward to more stories from you!

    • Thank you (with apologies for the late response)! I always enjoy your comments and love your blog, which invites me into another medium and aesthetic–a whole world.

  3. Applause for a wonderful blog! Keep writing. And you are right, blog is an unattractive word!

    • Thank you, Kristin. Sometimes I wonder whether the writing is leading anywhere, but then I keep doing it. Clearly I love it; and a lot of the pleasure comes from the meetings and interactions with people like you.

  4. Your stories have been an inspiration to me Josna – thank you.

    • Thank you, Don. That’s true for me and your wise reflections as well. Looking forward to hearing your voice again, from a new continent. Hope you’re settling in well.

  5. You have become a great storyteller, Jojo! I am proud of you!

    • Thank you, Marianne. So looking forward to sharing lots of stories at the reunion over the next few days. Safe journey!

Leave a Reply

