Josna Rege

A New Kind of TMA Story?

In Notes on May 28, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Looking back on more than three years of Tell Me Another, I see that the stories I tell are all over the place (rather like me in that respect). There are, of course, stories based in particular places, stories about people, family, childhood, parenting, stories about food, books and music, words and language, about immigrants, migration, and cross-cultural communication, about the people I love and the principles I hold dear.

I’ve noticed that there seems to be a growing genre of TMA pieces that reflect on a theme or a concept and that are perhaps a bit more didactic. I say “perhaps” because I tend to hold strong opinions, so there is the danger, when a piece is only tenuously linked to a specific story from my life, that it will become overly didactic. Nevertheless, prompted by friends’ suggestions, I’m wondering whether some of these pieces might be the starting point for a new kind of Tell Me Another—one that employs storytelling to explore some of my scholarly interests in a more engaging and accessible language and style than a lot of academic writing.

Below, in reverse chronological order, are some of the already-written TMA stories that may point in this new direction. Some are more closely linked to personal stories than others, some strongly express my own opinions, but all of them include an element of reflection on a particular topic or theme.

206. Xenophobia

199. Quest

192. Jam Today

185. Common Sense

178. Talkin’ ’bout My Generation

163. Servants, or Cleaning My Own D*** House!

160. Dogfight (G)

159. Ordinary People

145. Just a little is enough

143. Waste Not, Want Not

138. Learning How (Not) to See

134. Darshan, or You Never Can Tell

136. The Shame of Self-Censorship

124. A Meditation on Money

123. That Funny Accent

122. The Land of the Free—Really?

118. Racist Bracist

115. An Immigrant’s Reflections on Independence Day

102. No Nuclear News

101. The Japan Syndrome

99. Paharganj, January 1984

88. Sisters, Pick Up Your Sisters

84. Feasting or Fasting?

58. Southbound

35. The Nation

Tell Me Another (Contents to Date)

Chronological Table of Contents

  1. I look forward to reading more like these. I’m going through them so if you get some year old responses, that is why.

Leave a Reply

