Josna Rege

210. The Potters’ Tale

In 1950s, 1970s, 2010s, Books, Britain, Family, Nature on May 18, 2013 at 3:25 am
Tregurnow pottery

Tregurnow pottery

It’s marvelous where a train of thought can lead you in a day, and how sometimes things seem to come together all at once.

Just yesterday I was looking at some photographs I had taken of favorite pieces of pottery and china. I particularly treasure the mug, sugar bowl, and milk jug from Tregurnow Pottery, started by Mag and George when they moved down from London to a fishing village in Cornwall. They were part of my parents’ close circle of friends in London before I was born, and they all had their first children within a few months of each other. Mag is the one who pierced Mum’s ears for her, using a red-hot needle, or perhaps a red-hot safety pin. She is also the one who gave me my pet name. Visiting Mum and me when I was just days old, she first called me by the name that was to supplant my given name until I was thirty, and is still the one preferred by my family and oldest friends.

In the summer of 1971, on a trip to England after we had graduated from high school, Andrew and I took a coach down to Cornwall to visit Mag and George and camped on the clifftop near Treen. We went to a performance of Iris Murdoch’s The Italian Girl at the Minack open-air theatre, waded in the fantastically cold ocean water at Porthcurno (where George swam year-round), tasted nut rissoles for the first time (Mag and George were strict vegetarians), and learned about the importance of conserving water from George, who was decades ahead of his time in his commitment to a simple, sustainable life.

Porthcurno Bay (wikimedia commons)

Porthcurno Bay (wikimedia commons)

So I looked up Tregurnow Pottery on the Internet, and found the website of the couple who, back in 1999, had bought it from Mag and George after they retired, and started their own studio. Imagine my delight when I found that one of them, John Nash, had written a book about my parents’ friends, telling the story of their struggle to establish the pottery. I wasted no time in ordering The Potters’ Tale, and am looking forward eagerly to receiving and reading it soon. I was even more delighted to receive an e-mail message from his wife Mim and to learn that she is now a close friend of Mag’s. This in turn led to an e-mail exchange with my Uncle Ted, who had heard from Mag just last week and had greetings from her for my mother.

5171mSB9TRL._SL500_SY445_

One thing led to another. I found myself looking up the Minack Theater and learning that it was built by hand in the  1930s, stone by heavy stone, by a remarkable woman called Rowena Cade, who died in 1983 at age 90, and would have still been going strong back when Andrew and I visited the theatre. I found a video postcard of the Minack on YouTube and showed it to my father. I even found the archive of all the shows ever produced there since The Tempest in 1932, confirmed exactly when we had seen The Italian Girl, and learned that Iris Murdoch herself had participated in the play’s adaptation from the original novel.

(from thenakedcreative.co.uk)

The Minack Theatre (from thenakedcreative.co.uk)

This morning, over tea and a doughnut with Andrew, he brought out an old paperback and presented it to me: “I found this while I was sorting through some papers.” Wouldn’t you know—it was Iris Murdoch’s The Italian Girl!  My father-in-law picked it up for me at the town dump (er, sanitary landfill) a long while ago, but it had slipped out of sight and I had forgotten all about it—until just now. Synchronicity.

200px-ItalianGirl

Tell Me Another (Contents to Date)

Chronological Table of Contents

  1. And all that rumination comes from looking at some pieces of pottery. Isn’t that marvellous? Just goes to show the wonderful history behind things. I was in Cornwall last year. Such a beautiful place. Enjoy reading that book, Josna. Thank you for sharing the moment. What a joy.

    • Thank you, Don. Yes, Cornwall is strikingly beautiful. (If only the water wasn’t quite so cold. . .) It is wonderful what happens when one turns one’s attention to something, Suddenly it seems to be everywhere. As Doris Lessing has written, the ideas are in the air, and when one tunes in to one in particular, it seems to draw everything to itself. My uncle emailed me soon after I had posted this, to say that a few days earlier he had received a postcard of Porthcurno and Logan Rock (pictured on the book cover of The Potters’ Story),from his daughter, my cousin, who lives in Cornwall. Then, just that morning, he had been awakened by a radio program broadcasting from that very spot and talking about its history. And then he turned on his computer and read this story!

  2. What a wonderful, meandering trip through your memories. My daughter recently started doing pottery. I think I will look for the book for her. and share this post.

    • Throwing a pot on a wheel looks as if it must be very satisfying. I love the way the piece takes shape, gently moulded by the potter’s hands. Best wishes to your daughter; I hope the pottery-making brings her joy (and brings you a special piece of hers to treasure).

  3. Hi Josna
    My phone is a bit sluggish, so I don’t know if my reply to yr comment got through.
    I said that ‘Evangelive’ wd make the perfect anagram & that my first first name cd b found in the Pom-Pom Letters. Elbow grease now!
    E

  4. Dear Josna, The potters’ tale I read. Your potters’ tale and your innumerable Tell me your another episodes enlighten me immensely. You are wonderful magician taking out rabits one ofter another for us to enjoy and enlightening us. Keep it up. You are a store house.Thanks. G.P.Kamat Dad of Sangeeta. I am lucky to live till this time to read your interesting writeups

    • Dear Mr. Kamat, Thank you so much for your kind words. Comments like this one are a big reason why I enjoy writing these stories so much, and they motivate me to continue when I wonder whether I am wasting my time. (I like the idea of being a storehouse!) Loved your dear grand-daughter’s photos of your recent trip. It clearly did you all good. Soon Sangeeta will be back with you. Please do stay in touch and I promise to do the same. Love to you all, Josna

  5. […] The Potters’ Tale (Cornwall, 1970s, present) […]

Leave a Reply

