Josna Rege

Blogging from A to Z

In Notes on May 1, 2013 at 9:26 pm

survivor_[2013]

 

On the 31st of March I decided to participate in the 4th annual Blogging from A to Z April Challenge, starting with A on April Fool’s Day and posting a story corresponding to each successive letter of the alphabetevery day but Sunday throughout the month. Well, it’s May Day and I did it, writing as many stories in the past month as I had in the previous six. Some admirable fellow-bloggers had planned their month in advance, choosing a topic or theme and coming out of the challenge with a completed book; mine were all over the map. But having to write them daily forced me to experiment a little, to take risks with posts because there simply wasn’t time to dither.

Thanks to Arlee Bird of Tossing It Out, the founder of the Challenge, to Damyanti Biswas of Amlokiblogs, who first encouraged me to participate, and to the many fascinating people whose blogs I visited and who in turn visited mine, taking the time to post generous comments and to enter into thoughtful conversations.

It’s going to be particularly busy for me for the next couple of weeks, so don’t be alarmed if Tell Me Another has to take a bit of a hiatus; I’ll be back. In the meantime, you can use the list below to catch up on entries in the A to Z Challenge that you may have missed.

Autoantonyms

Brevity

Common Sense

Drive-ins

Emil and the Detectives

Finn Family Moonmintroll

Goodness Gracious Me!

Hobson-Jobson

The Iliad at Bedtime

Jam Today

Kindling

London, My London

Marathon

Never No More

O, Oh, and The Wonderful O

The Post Office

Quest

Roots, Rock, Reggae

Screaming Women

Tennessee Stud

Ultra

Victory V’s

Weeping Willow

Xenophobia

The Yonghy-Bonghy-Bò

Zee, Zed, Go to Bed

Tell Me Another (Contents to Date)

Chronological Table of Contents

A2Z-2013-BANNER-900_zps1a85732a

  1. Congratulations, Josna, on completing this challenge. I’m amazed at your ability to be generative, thoughtful, witty and clever so many days and blogs in a row. And to have a life at the same time. Wow!

    Karen

    • Thank you, Karen. I’ll gratefully accept your kind words about my managing to complete the challenge; but about having a life at the same time, I’m not so sure!

  2. UNSUBSCRIBE me please.

    ________________________________

  3. So happy you did the challenge and that I found you. Enjoy your break into real life!

    • Likewise, Kristin. I found it reassuring that “the morning after,” so to speak, you wrote a new story about yet another hugely talented member of your family. life—and Finding Eliza—goes on. I like your “break into real life;” I hardly know which is which anymore!

  4. Congratulations on the completion of the Challenge,
    also a great reflection post.

    Yvonne.
    A TO Z AMBASSADOR

    • Thank you, Yvonne, for your visit and kind words, and also for your hard work in making this Challenge the success it was—most importantly, of keeping it congenial and non-commercial. This reflection post wasn’t anywhere near as in-depth or analytical as it ought to have been, because I originally wrote it to announce my completion of the Challenge to my regular readers, to let them know that I would be taking a bit of a break to catch up on a backlog of work, and to post a hyperlinked list of the A-Z entries. There’s a lot more I could have said about the different kind of writing I found myself doing under daily pressure, the other blogs and bloggers I encountered and what I learned from them, and in fact the whole new community of bloggers with which I had only a passing acquaintance before this month. Anyway, thanks again for a terrific month, and I look forward to developing the new connections and to reflecting further on the experience.

Leave a Reply

