Josna Rege

Some Stats and a Slowdown II

In Notes on August 31, 2010 at 8:33 am

Inevitably, the summer is coming to a close and with the start of the teaching year I’m going to have to slow down again, to about a story a week, if I’m lucky. Tell Me Another is six months old today, with 72 stories posted. The site has had more than 4500 page views, and 65 different people have sent or posted more than 200 comments. Twenty-two friends and relatives have subscribed, and, since I put Clustrmaps on the homepage just three weeks ago,  it has recorded visits from 13 different countries.

Statistics aside, I’ve been enjoying telling these stories immensely, as well as all the conversations that they have generated. Thank you, and please do keep coming back.

  1. Your essays are simply fascinating Jojo tai! I have it linked on my browser bookmark bar; and I pretty much can’t get my day going until I’ve checked your blog at least once in the morning. You have quite some fan following out here in Kansas as well. I can’t believe it’s been 6 months already.

    • Thank you both. Marianne, I agree: this virtual space has become a place where different people—family and dear friends like you—from the far-flung parts of my life can meet, and in so doing, make me feel closer to them and somehow, to myself. It’s also delightfil to have readers from three different generations. I have changed my quirky English wording of “twenty-odd” friends and relatives to the more precise “22”; I wouldn’t want anyone to get the idea that I think they’re odd!
      Pinu, nice to think of the Kansas contingent checking in on the blog. I’d be perfectly satisfied if that contingent were made up of just one: I very much enjoy your comments.

  2. You have done a wonderful job of writing stories that evoke so many memories, delightful as well as sad and wistful. I am really enjoying getting to know you and your family better through your stories.
    I know Jennie is a fan as well.
    This is a great idea and one of the wonderful uses of the internet which can actually bring us closer together.
    I guess I fall into the category of one of your “odd friends and relatives”, and a number one fan!

  3. For all the reasons that others have voiced above, I’m so happy to have been introduced to your blog. Getting back now to the happy task of catching up on all the entries that I’ve missed!

    • Thank you, Mary. It’s fun to receive your comments on stories that nobody has read in a long time. And I’m enjoying your blog like anything. I just need to get a Google account so as to be able to comment on it–still haven’t gotten around to it.

Leave a Reply

